Jimmy LaFave - Austin Skyline (1992)

Jimmy LaFave (born July 12, 1955) is an American singer-songwriter and folk musician.
In 1992 he signed with Colorado-based Bohemia Beat Records and recorded his debut, "Austin Skyline". The album featured four Dylan covers and its title is both a tribute to Dylan (LaFave loved Dylan's Nashville Skyline) and his new hometown of Austin. In his review of LaFave's Cimarron Manifesto (2007) for the FolkWax E-Zine, Arthur Wood calls LaFave "one of the finest Dylan interpreters ever. Most of the songs on "Austin Skyline" were taken from live recordings of two shows LaFave played in Austin on two different nights at the Chicago House and at La Zona Rosa. Some of the songs were recorded in Marcia Ball's garage recording studio. One Angel is a sweet and tender song that exemplifies Lafave's plaintive voice and lyrical magic. The words aren't sophisticated, but they don't have to be. Songs aren't intellectual, they are written to feel. When Lafave sings "I have only one angel babe, my one angel is you." you feel and believe. Lafave explores beyond the tender side with Desparate Men. Great hook, great melody, very well done. Lafave also does an excellent job of showcasing Bob Dylan's material. He always manages to breathe some new spark into Dylan tunes (not that they need it). Hiway 61 and Leopard Skin Pill Box Hat are a couple of fine examples of Lafave's take on some classic tunes that defy you to stand still. Lafave has a unique voice and his song selection is perfect for his style and vocal work.

Track List:
01. Thru the Neon Night (LaFave) - 4:53
02. Girl from the North Country (Dylan) - 4:18
03. Desperate Men Do Desperate Things (LaFave) - 4:21
04. When It Starts to Rain (LaFave) - 4:05
05. Deep South 61 Delta Highway Blues (LaFave) - 4:00
06. Walk Away Renée (Brown, Calili, Sansone) - 4:47
07. Measuring Words (LaFave) - 4:16
08. You're a Big Girl Now (Dylan) - 6:07
09. Leopard-Skin Pill Box Hat (Dylan) - 3:55
10. Only One Angel LaFave) - 5:06
11. Everytime (LaFave) - 4:22
12. Rocket in My Pocket (LaFave) - 4:53
13. Darkest Side of Midnight (LaFave) - 6:02
14. Restless Spirits (LaFave) - 4:29
15. Trouble Free (LaFave) - 3:43
16. Shelter from the Storm (Dylan) - 6:21

Release Date: 1992
Recorded: Live In Austin Texas
Label: Bohemia Beat
Genre: Blues, Folk, Rock
Playtime: 74:29
Producer: Jimmy LaFave

Jimmy LaFave (vocals, guitar)
Brian Wood (guitar, steel guitar)
Larry Jon Wilson, Larry Wilson (guitar)
Randy Glines (harmonica)
David Webb (keyboards)
Mark Patterson (drums)


Post a Comment